White-Crowned Sparrows Visit Bird Bath

White-crowned_Sparrow_Bathing.55135525

I was delighted by the sight of several white-crowned sparrows taking a bath in my bird bath this morning. I love the striking white stripes on their heads. They remind me a little of chickadees although they are a larger bird. I find watching them bathe intriguing. They seem to enjoy it so much. It brings back memories from my childhood when our parakeet entertained us with her joyful baths.

I thought I would see what Ted Andrews, in this book Animal-Speak: The Spiritual and Magical Powers of Creatures Great and Small has to say about sparrows. Andrews gives the sparrow the keynote of “awakening and triumph of common nobility.” This is due to its ability to hold its own against many of its predators. In the Middle Ages it was a symbol for the peasants and lower classes throughout Europe. The peasants were often helpless under the power of overlords and therefore loved to hear tales of how the simple sparrow triumphed over powerful enemies such as wolves, bears, and eagles, traditional symbols of nobility.

The sparrow’s ability to multiply and prosper despite its many predators is symbolic of the strength and nobility of the common person. I feel we are seeing a rise of the common person around the planet joining in a wave of change. We are more powerful than we can imagine and individually and collectively, we can make a difference.

The fact that I saw the birds bathing carries symbolic significance as well. In The Secret Language of Signs author Denise Linn says that bathing can be a symbol of purification and cleansing. It can mean it is time to wash ones hands of a situation or old habits and attitudes. It can also signify baptism or rebirth.

All of these are consistent with the theme of rebirth and change I’ve been seeing over and over again this spring. We common people, individually and collectively, are powerful. We can heal ourselves and in so doing, heal the planet.

Finally, I’m struck by the white crown of this sparrow. The crown chakra is our connection to divinity, to universal life force energy. White light , has holistic healing and protective qualities that can be called upon to free one from negative energies and advance one’s healing and spiritual growth.

The white-crowned sparrows visiting my bird bath gave me a lift this morning and now I can see why.

Pictures of Sparrows: This is a nice website that can help you with identifying the sparrows who come to visit you. I’d love to hear about them!

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Animal Allies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to White-Crowned Sparrows Visit Bird Bath

  1. Zest says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by the Sunshine Scrapbook and liking my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

