Butterfly: Rebirth and Transformation

yellow-monarch

For the last week or so I’ve had a yellow swallowtail butterfly, sometimes two butterflies, come to visit my backyard. She does a fly by usually traveling from the south and fluttering about the yard for awhile before flying back out again. Sometimes she flies right towards me as if to say hello. When there are two butterflies they engage in a whirling dance around each other.

Butterflies, especially the yellow swallowtail, instantly lift my spirits and bring joy to my soul. They signal rebirth, transformation and joy. They announce winter’s end and the beginning of spring and summer. Spiritually, they are a sign of new beginnings on a higher plane.

At my parents’ assisted living they had a butterfly day when all the women wore butterfly printed or embellished clothing and butterflies were placed on the walls. It was a joyful way to celebrate the end of life as we know it and the transition to a new beginning on the other side. My Mother made her transition in 2007. Now whenever I see a butterfly I feel her spiritual presence near me, sending me love.

No wonder beautiful butterflies are quintessential symbols of hope and renewal. They are everywhere on artwork, jewelry, cards, posters and other products designed to inspire and uplift. Thank you butterfly for visiting with your messages of beauty, joy, hope and renewal!

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Animal Allies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butterfly: Rebirth and Transformation

  1. Pingback: North Carolina "Homeschool-ology"

  2. Pingback: Monarch Butterfly: Rebirth and Transformation | hopesongs

Leave a Reply

