Lava and Lightning–Power, Release, and Rebirth

volcano_w_lightning

This amazing image showed up in my newsfeed today, posted by Milky Way Scientists . If you follow the link you can read the full story. The eruption of Sakurajima occurred in Japan on February 24, 2013. What is so striking (no pun intended) is the lightning which seems to come from the eruption itself. As they explain in the posting, it is a little understood phenomenon.

I have always been fascinated by these two powers of nature, volcanoes and lightning. To see them both exploding together evokes awe. What is the metaphor or higher meaning one can read in such an occurrence?

I’m a learner of signs so I seek guidance from sources, often Denise Linn’s The Secret Language of Signs . However, I will tap into my own intuition first to see what these signs evoke in me.

The volcano erupting reminds me of my fascination with volcanoes and their awesome powers of destruction. I have been fortunate to see Mount Saint Helens many years after its eruption where life is very slowly coming back. The huge forests were knocked down like toothpicks and the lake simply disappeared. A before and after picture shows a devastation almost beyond comprehension.

Mount_St_Helens_before_and_after

I was also able to see lava flowing from Kilauea into the ocean in Hawaii. I had to look through binoculars to see the lava emerging from a lava tube into the ocean. Even from the distance which we were kept at, you could feel the heat. I’d have to say those two experiences near volcanoes have been peak experiences in my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I’m writing this, I remembered that I often see in my dreams the San Francisco Peaks in Flagstaff, AZ, not far from me, having a volcanic eruption. In my dreams I feel the same thrill, the raw expression of apocalyptic power. I feel this is a sign of awesome power, destruction of the old to make way for the new. New lands are created by the molten rocks and minerals deposited in eruptions and lava flows as you can see in this photo of the Bonito Lava Flow (1180AD) at Sunset Crater near Flagstaff, AZ, (one of my favorite spots.)

sunset crater

Lightning is another fascination of mine. My mind goes to the amazing light shows we often get here in Arizona during the monsoon season.

monsoons

Again, there is the essence of tremendous power that suddenly erupts with incredible brightness to be followed by thunder. It’s a power that can start devastating forest fires. Yet it may have been the instrument that stimulated the start of organic compounds and life on earth.

Power, destruction, rebirth. Is that not what we are witnessing at this time on planet earth, in our own lives?

Denise Linn sees the volcano as symbolizing a primal force of nature from within the depths of Mother Earth which is often a symbol of the subconscious. All that has been suppressed is released explosively so that healing may occur. She sees lightning as a very potent symbol connoting great power and a break-through ahead. In native tradition, lightning was the Sky Father impregnating Earth Mother. It can be a very powerful sign of speed, strength, and the awakening of your inner life force.

This certainly resonates with me. How does it feel to you?

For an amazing story of rebirth after death by lightning strike, I highly recommend Dannion Brinkley’s  Saved by the Light .

I also recommend The Emotion Code by Dr. Bradley Nelson for  releasing trapped emotions.

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Powers of Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lava and Lightning–Power, Release, and Rebirth

  1. cpanel vps says:

    Valuable info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site unintentionally, and I am stunned why this twist of fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.|

Leave a Reply

