Daffodils Open and Uplift

DSC01529

I live in Arizona so don’t be surprised to hear the daffodils are awakening in my backyard. It is so exciting to see the first blooms of spring and I can’t think of a better flower to do it than daffodil. Like spring itself, daffodils symbolize rebirth and new beginnings.

I have yet to create a flower essence from daffodil since I find just looking at them in my garden healing and uplifting. If I were to create one, and I might, I would probably use the indirect method. Instead of cutting the precious few flowers I have, I’d place a bowl of water near them and ask that the essence of the flower be placed in the water. I know this sounds like it wouldn’t work, but we are talking about energies here. I tend to use the indirect method more than cutting the flowers and placing them in the water because I have a hard time cutting flowers! I’ve used the essences I’ve made from the indirect method, shared them with friends, and they seem to be effective.

FES (Flower Essence Services) has a professionally prepared daffodil flower essence as a research essence that you can purchase and help them with their research on it: Daffodil

Why, might you ask, would daffodil be a research flower essence? I think it is because there does not seem to be a consensus about the healing qualities of daffodil flower essence. I referred to The New Encyclopedia of Flower Remedies by Clare G. Harvey for some insight and found three somewhat different claims. Harebell Remedies in Scotland says that daffodil lifts us out of a low, inward-looking mental state and opens us up to lighter brighter energies. It banishes the blues and casts out doubts. That one resonates with me!

Habundia Shamanic Flower Essences has daffodil listed as a spiritual remedy which is good for meditation, enlivens the spirit (my italics!) aids connection with one’s Higher Self, and allows faster spiritual growth.

The Petite Fleur Essences says daffodil is for quiet, timid, shy people who try to please everyone, placing themselves under constant tension and anxiety which causes symptoms like heart palpitations. It helps you to feel more at ease with yourself and others, not needing to appease others all the time.

A general internet search finds even more ideas of how daffodil flower essences can help. It’s interesting how some flower essences have a general consensus of their healing traits while others are so mixed. In the end, it all comes down to you and how the flower essence works for you. I’d love to hear your ideas on daffodil!

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Flower Essences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

