Lilac–Harbinger of Spring

Lilac

Lilacs came into my awareness twice this week with their healing messages. I first encountered lilac this week in a soap and gift shop where I picked up a soap that had a purple glycerin lilac embedded into it. When I smelled it, I was swept away into spring and joyful memories of my childhood backyard with the lilac bushes blooming. It was a powerful healing reminder that spring is around the corner. I handed it over to my friend and asked her if it made her think of spring, and she enthusiastically agreed! Then this morning before I got up, I got a quick, vivid image in my mind of dark purple lilacs in a lovely glazed ceramic vase. I immediately went to my computer and searched for an image that looked similar to what I saw. The one I have here is pretty close. The butterfly (and butterflies love lilacs!) reinforces the message of change and transformation.

There are lilac flower essences too! I don’t have any lilac bushes so haven’t been able to make my own. But Flower Essence Services (FES) has a lilac essence and I’m trying it out now. Here’s information on it from their online catalog: http://www.fesflowers.com/fes-store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=94_97&products_id=1730

(Note, you can find the price discounted at some of the large online nutrition vend0rs if you Google search “lilac flower essence.”)

The first statement FES says about the positive qualities lilac can facilitate is “Deep well springs of memory that rejuvenate the soul. . .” Wow, that was certainly my experience when I smelled the lilac soap!

Flowers are so powerful, I don’t think you need to take a flower essence to get healing gifts from them. Simply smelling, seeing real ones or images, or even thinking about flowers has the power to lift us. Thank you Lilac for lifting me from the winter doldrums with your promise of spring around the corner!

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Flower Essences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lilac–Harbinger of Spring

Leave a Reply

