Cougar or Mountain Lion

cougar_snowhead       cougar_snowhead. N.d. Wilderness, UTWeb. 21 Feb 2013. <N.d. Wilderness,UTWeb. 21 Feb 2013. . >.

Last night I had a vivid dream with an animal visitor–a mountain lion. I tried to find a picture that looked like her (I felt it was a female.) This one is the closest. She had a very soft face and her fur was fluffy, but she wasn’t in snow. Instead we were both outside in desert terrain. She came running directly at me and then jumped over me! Then she ran up to a low rock ledge to my right and sprawled on her side looking comfortable and like she was going to stay there for awhile. I woke up and as I always do when I have such experiences, I wondered what does it mean? Well, that’s part of the purpose of this blog–to learn and catalog the messages animals that show up in my life have for me. Luckily I have a couple resources that I find helpful. I look up possible meanings and then decide which ones resonate with me at the time and therefore have a lesson for me to learn. One resource is a book by Carly van Heerden entitled Animal Totems & Spirit Animals: The Shamanic Approach c. 2012, a Kindle book. She gives short, concise attributes for the animals she describes. For Cougar she says they are courageous leaders associated with power of balance. They are noted for gentleness, honesty, and loyalty and have potentials relating to foresight and fortitude. Nice! Next I have a resource that goes into pages of descriptions for each animal. It’s a well-known book entitled Animal Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small by Ted Andrews.c. 1993 (my edition was 2004 reprint) Llewellyn Publications, St. Paul, MN. He starts each entry with a keynote. For the Cougar, the Keynote is “Coming into Your Own Power”.  There are several pages of interesting detail worth reading if you get the book. One thing that jumped out at me was he said “If a cougar has shown up, there is a choice to be made, and it should be made quickly and strongly. A cougar leaps at its opportunities.” Wow, I saw the cougar leaping! All in all, I would say I got some very positive and empowering messages from this animal totem. Thank you Mountain Lion for showing up. Now I will see if I start seeing more Mountain Lions to reinforce the messages. You can bet I will be looking for them!

About ruthelsesser

I've been on the planet for over 6 decades and life is good. I am a semi-retired educator, currently working as an adjunct faculty member at the local community college. I've lived in Arizona since the mid-eighties and enjoy all the beauty that surrounds me on a daily basis.
This entry was posted in Animal Allies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

